|Home | Schedules | Forums | History | Hall of fame | Coaches | Stadiums | Jerome Brown
| Retired Numbers | Graphics |Cheerleaders | Fightsong |Joe's Recroom|


Philadelphia Eagles
Official Site

NFL Official Site

Eagles Fancast


bert bell The Frankford Yellowjackets became part of the NFL in 1924. Owners Bert Bell and Lud Wray bought the team in 1933 for $2500. They renamed the team the Philadelphia Eagles. Bell was also instrumental in establishing the college draft in 1935.

In 1941, a strange thing happened, The owners of the Pittsburgh team and the Eagles swapped teams, making Alexis Thompson the new owner of the Eagles. Due to the manpower shortage because of world war 2, the Eagles and Steelers merged for the 1943 season. The team was called the Steagles. They finished 5-4-1 that year under Coach Greasy Neale.

earl greasy nealeHall of Fame coach EARLE "GREASY" NEALE guided the Eagles from 1941-1950. Under his direction, Philadelphia compiled a 66-44-5 record and won the NFL championship in back-to-back years (1948 and 1949) by shutting out their opponent in the title game. Neale was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1969.

The Eagles had dominating teams in the 40's. Future hall-of-famers on these teams included running back Steve Van Buren,center/linebacker Alex Wojciechowicz, end Pete Pihos, and Chuck "Concrete Charley" Bednarik, The Eagles first round draft pick in 1949.The Eagles finished second in the NFL Eastern division in 1945,1946,and 1947 (there were no wildcard teams back then). In 1947 the Eagles won the Eastern division title, but lost the championship game to the Chicago Cardinals. In 1948, The Eagles won the division behind Steve Van Burens running attack (he just missed 1000 yards rushing, but was the first player ever to have over 1000 yards from scrimmage two years in a row) and had a rematch for the championship against the Cardinals, this time they would not be denied. The Eagles dominating defense shut out the Cardinals 7-0 for the teams first championship.

The 1949 Eagles were even more dominating,going 11-1 in the regular season and shutting out the L.A. Rams for their second straight championship. Van Buren led the league in rushing that year with 1146 yards and 11 touchdowns.

The eagles finished the 1950 season tied for third in their division, Neale retired after the season, and were coachedchamps by Bo Milner in 1951. The team finished in fifth place and Milner was replaced. The next six years they were coached by Jim Trimble and Hugh Devore, a couple of second place finishes were the highest the Eagles finished during that time. In 1958, Buck Shaw took over. Shaw rebuilt the team and brought in Norm Van Brocklin from the Rams.In 1960, the Van Brocklin led Eagles won the Eastern division with a 10-2 record. They played the Green Bay Packers for the championship. On the final play of the game, with green Bay driving for a touchdown, Bednarik saved the game by making an open field tackle on Jimmy Taylor. Bednarik kept Taylor on the ground while the game clock expired. The Eagles won their third championship that day. 17-13.Van Brocklin and Shaw retired after the season. Although the Eagles finished second the following year,They did not reach the playoff again for 18 years. The eagles were a pretty poor team during this period, only finishing above .500 once.

In 1976,the teams losing ways were about to change. The Eagles Hired a young coach out of UCLA, The Dick Vermeil era begins. Vermeils teams finished in 4th place in 1976 and 1977. 1977 was the year that Ron Jaworski came to the Eagles as quarterback. Dick VermeilThe Eagles also had some great players on the team like Bill Bergey, John Bunting, Harold Carmichael, Herm Edwards, and Wibert Montgomery among others. In 1978, The Eagles finished 9-7, and even though they lost 14-13 to Atlanta in the wildcard playoff game, the teams turn around was finally beginning. This was the first winning season in 12 years, and first playoff appearence in 18 years.

1979, the Eagles finished 11-5 and lost the division in a tie breaker to Dallas.Wilbert Montgomery They beat the Bears in the first round but lost to Tampa 24-17 in the second round of the playoffs.

In 1980 the Eagles finished the season 12-4, tied for first with Dallas, this year the Eagles won the tiebreaker, they beat the Vikings in the first round of the playoffs, and faced the Dallas Cowboys in the NFC Championship game.Dallas had been an Eagles nemesis for a long time. behind the running of Wilbert Montgomery,the consistency of Ron Jaworski, and excellent defensive play, the Eagles beat Dallas 27-10 to go to their first Superbowl. Unfortunately, they lost to Oakland 27-10.The following year, The eagles went 10-6 and lost in the first round of the playoffs. In 1982, a strike shortened the season after 2 games, the Eagles finished the year 3-6 and missed the playoffs for the first time in 5 years. Vermeil retired after this season.

Vermeil was replaced by Marion Campbell in 1983, Campbell compiled a 18-29-1 record in his three years and was replaced by Buddy Ryan in 1986. Ryan built the Eagles "GangGreen" defense with players like Reggie White, JeromeBuddy Ryan Brown, Eric Allen, Seth Joyner, Wes Hopkins, and Andre Waters. The Eagles had the most gang green defenseDominating Defense in the NFL during the Ryan era. The offense included Randall Cunningham, Mike Quick, Keith Byars, and Cris Carter.

Ryans teams made the playoffs in three of his five years with the team, but could never manage a playoff win. Ryan was replaced by Rich Kotite in 1991. In 1992 the Eagles went 11-5 and lost in the second round of the playoffs.

Ray Rhodes took over in 1991 and finished 10-6 in his first two years, making the playoff both years. By 1998, Rhodes last season, the Eagles were one of the worst teams in the league, finishing 3-13. It was now time to rebuld again.

Andy Reid became the coach in 1999. In a move that was unpopular with many fans, Andy used the second pick inDonovan Mcnabb the NFL draft to draft QB Donovan Mcnabb out of Syracuse. Reids teams also included players such as Duce Staley, Bobby Taylor, Troy Vincent,and Brian Dawkins.

In 2000, the Eagles finished 11-5 and went to the playoff for the first time in 4 years. They beat Tampa in the first round but lost to the Giants in the second andy reidround. The following year they finished 11-5 again and won the division for the first time in 13 years, Losing to the Rams in the Championship game. In 2002 the Eagles repeated as NFC east champs with a team record 12 wins, again losing in the Championship game, this time to the eventual Superbowl Champion Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

In 2003, The Eagles moved into their new home, Lincoln Financial Field.Once again the Eagles win the Eastern division championship with a 12-4 record. They once again came up short in the NFC championship game, losing to the Carolina Panthers.

2004 The Eagles make it to the Superbowl for the second time in team history. Wide receiver Terrell Owens coming off an injury shines in the big game but the Eagles still fall short, losing to the New England Patriots by 3 points.

2005, Terrell Owens cries and becomes a divisive factor on the team which leads to him being kicked off the team. McNabb suffers a season ending injury and the Eagles miss the playoffs for the first time since 1999.

2006, The Eagles again lose McNabb to a season ending injury, but the team comes together behind the play of backup QB Jeff Garcia and the strong running of Brian Westbrook. The Eagles win the NFC east for the fifth time in six years, losing to New Orleans in the second round of the playoffs.


NFL CHAMPIONSHIPS 1948,1949,1960
ALL TIME RECORD (THROUGH 2007)479-524-25
NFC EAST DIVISION CHAMPS 1980,1988,2001,2002,2003,2004,2006,2010,2013

Copyright 2009 All rights reserved. Designed by Economicalwebdesign.net